Finally!! I managed to get photobucket to work for me and I have some photos of a Mini Album I’m making from Spotlight Loot Bags and Graphic 45 (YUM!) Bird Song.
I’ve been planning this mini album for ages, but fate and Australia Post have conspired against me and it has been hard to get all the elements together in one place.  But I have everything I need now (I think), so I can show you the first four pages that I made. The rest will come as I do them over the next few weeks.
First I need to tell you that the whole mini (except for the covers, which will be chipboard and which I will make later) is made up of paper bags. There is an absolutely excellent YouTube tutorial from Steph Miller (links below) if you want to try one of these yourself, and a recent ‘Live with Prima’ video, also with Steph, featured
another one. It’s really very simple to make, and looks amazing!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNhsKVlIbtg&feature=related
http://www.ustream.tv/recorded/20611252

I found my paper bags at Spotlight in the children’s party section – they come in a packet of 10 and are just called Party Loot Bags. I think all the good black and brown
ones had been sold for Halloween, so I picked up some red ones… it doesn’t matter much since all the bags are covered with paper and all the edges are inked with Fired Brick Distress Ink anyway. Just as a note – the Spotlight bags are just a bit bigger than the ones in the tutorials (from Michael’s in the USA).
So – here is a quick description of what I did….

Cut the paper bag down to whatever length you want to – mine is about 7.5”. For some of the pages I will leave the end square, but for this one I have also cut off the corners. Each bag will give you two pockets at each end and also one on the reverse side as a bonus.

Fold back the top layer of paper to form the flap. Then decorate…I have used Graphic 45 Bird Song and a I plan to use a lot of Dusty Attic Asian inspired chipboard with it.

This is how it all turned out…notice the small shallow pocket formed
from the bottom of the bag on one page and the larger pocket (actually there are
two – one behind the other) formed from the open end of the bag.

The journalling tags on this page are not attached, just tucked under the edge of the pocket. The Tientsin Cafe card is popped up on dimensional tape.

The chipboard Garden Lantern on this page is embossed using Stampendous Aged Ivory Embossing Powder. With it’s edges inked with Black Soot Distress Ink it almost looks like stone, a fabulous effect.

The chain is attached by slipping the ends of the two flower brads (Bo Bunny) through the links. I used a covered piece of black cardstock to make my photo tag – there are two more cherry blossom photos on the back.

I’ve added a smaller tag to the second (back) pocket. That means that I have space for journalling on the first page – 2 journalling tags tucked into the pocket – and room for at least six photos on the tags in the pockets of the second page.

For the next page I worked on the back of the page pictured above to create a journalling page very similar in design to the first page.

The bird is fussy cut and popped up on Dimensional Squares. The flower’s centre is a blingy brad with the same chain attached as I used on the first page. This time there is an oriental looking scissors charm dangling fron the end. I like this chain with these papers, so will try to make it a recurring element through the mini album.

Again there is plenty of space for journalling. For the next page I decided to change it up a bit and did not cut the corners off my paper bag, or fold back the first layer. The page still has two pockets though, I have lined them with paper as before so that the pockets are separate from one another.

The second part of my fussy cut bird is at the top of this page, again on dimensional squares. as is the card on the right. As you can see my two tags have room for plenty of photos – there are three on the backs as well.

I haven’t decided what to attach to the tags yet to make them easily removable yet but I think a piece of chain will be involved ;). Here are the two pages side by side….

More to come…stay tuned, and thanks for dropping by 🙂

