The first double page in my 12 Days of Christmas Mini is  devoted to my favourite day of all – Christmas Day. We always have a large number of family and friends at our house on this day, so there are a lot of photos taken by all – heaps to choose from for my first page! As for all the pages in this album, the edges of the page are inked with Vintage Photo Distress Stain. These two pages are also covered with Partridge.

Because I know there will be more than one great photo that I would like to keep I have used the first page to create some storage space for these photos.

I took a Kraft envelope from my stash of tags, bags and envelopes and traced it’s shape onto a piece of patterned paper paper so that it would fit inside nicely. The paper is from the 6.5” Paper Pad – the pattern matches Partridge, but is smaller and green 😉 Once cut out, and the fold scored I inked it and tucked the straight piece into the envelope. I stuck just the top flap down with double sided tape. The edges of the envelope are also inked with Vintage Photo Distress Ink.

Then I decorated the envelope and the surrounding page. The Christmas Trees and the word ”Photos” were stamped with Vintage Photo and then embossed with Clear Embossing Powder. I cheated a little bit and stamped the very tips of the trees onto the envelopes flap as well so that when it is closed they are not cut off. Next I made a tag to go onto the envelope. Starting with a small manilla tag I stamped and embossed the sprig of pine from Tim Holtz’ Mini Holidays 2 set.

I stamped each application of ink twice, so that some are lighter in colour than the others.

Then the whole tag was inked using Bundled Sage, Forest Moss and Vintage Photo Distress Inks. A light swipe with a baby wipe or damp paper towel will remove the excess ink from the embossed areas. The ribbon is coloured with Bundled Sage and Peeled Paint Distress Stains.

Then I embellished the rest of the page and stuck the envelope on – a little off centre


The little Christmas tree hanging from the ribbon started off silver, but I embossed it with Gold embossing enamel to make it match. The Rosette is made from a circular “Christmas Joy” Die Cut from the Collectables Die Cuts pack and two number banners – 20 and 12 – from the 12×12 Numbers Sticker Sheet. Because this is also acting as a
closure for the flap I have given it a stiffening coat of Glossy Accents. The small roses are Kaisercraft Paper Mini Blooms in Ruby and Buttercream and the Rhinestones are cut from a larger flourish. In the top left corner under the flowers and the envelope there is another Die Cut, this time from the 6.5” Paper Pad. Does it look familiar? Iused the same pattern twice on the front cover.

The following page is mostly a blank photo mat, but there are a few embellishments there that deserve a mention.

The photo mat itself is cut from the reverse of Pipers.

It’s edges are inked and the holly berries have been decorated with red rhinestones. At the bottom of the page and slightly overhanging the edge I have added a newsprint scalloped die cut piece from the 6.5” Paper Pad and a Tim Holtz Ideaology Game Piece(25).
I fussy cut Santa climbing down the chimney, popped him up on Mini Magic Mount and gave him a rhinestone flourish to match the one on the other page. The two tickets tucked under the photo mat are not stuck down, so both can be removed and any necessary journalling can be written on the back. One is a Collectables Die Cut and the other is a Tim Holtz Adage Ticket (Dream). The piece of holy decorating them is another Collectables Die Cut stuck to the Adage Ticket with a Mini Magic Mount square.

Here’s a pic of the two pages together….

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

