October is the PURRfect month for our “When the Cat’s Away” Competition on the forum at Ideal Papercraft. The boss is away in Europe right now, having a wonderful time walking the Pilgrim Trail through France and Spain and sending back photos that stir envy in our hearts.

Us kittehs who are left behind are having a play while she is away and Basement Cat has organised some challenges and competitions to keep us busy. Here’s a link to the forum…..come and join in the fun!

Before she went on holidays Mary gave me Kaisercraft’s Turtle Dove to play with (arghhhh…Christmas already) so as I normally do with Christmas lines, I am mixing up some OTP with my layouts, cards and tags. First up I will be making a contribution to our ‘Mini Album October’ at Ideal Papercraft.

There are literally dozens of ways to create a mini album using anything from toilet rolls and envelopes to boxes or bags, all with tutorials available on the internet. There are also scores of mini albums you can buy shaped like trains, castles, cupcakes etc. For this project I am using a pre-made mini album from 7 Gypsies. It’s a very plain, thick chipboard album with 8 rectangular pages all measuring 5” x 7.5”. They are joined by two sets of black metal spiral binding.

12-days_1
There are also a myriad of reasons for making a mini album. We give them away as gifts, we remember specific occasions like holidays, birthdays etc or we make them to be filled later with both photos and journalling. Mine is one of the latter. I am making an album about the 12 Days of Christmas 2012, so it will have no photos or journalling yet, but instead there wil be spaces where the photos and journalling will go.

Turtle Dove has several elements referring to the 12 Days of Christmas, so I decided that I would take at least one photo on each of those days in 2012/2013 and add them to my album. Not necessarily photos of people, but memories of the things we do on each of those days.
The first thing I did was research which 12 days I would be documenting, and it turns out that the 12 days of Christmas are the ones between December 25th and January 6th…Christmas Day and Epiphany.

So my album will have back and front covers and one page for each day…with the exceptions of two each for Christmas Day and New Years Eve, which are likely to have a lot more photo action.
I started by taking the binding off and separating the pages,
12-days_4and inking the edges of each one using Vintage Photo Distress Stain.
12-days_3I also gathered together a variety of envelopes, bags and tags that I may (or may not ) use along the way.
12-days_5
Then I covered the front (and back) covers with a pretty creamy paper with foiled gold spots from the 6.5 inch Paper Pad and added a wide border punched from Partridge. I fussy cut the holly and baubles from Pipers and the ruler from the bottom of Lords. Did I mention that everything is distressed with Tim Holtz’ Paper Distresser and Vintage Photo Distress Ink?
12-days_Front-Cover
The ruler is quite a bit too long for my mini’s cover, so I shortened it to the edge of the words, using V cuts and curling the ends a bit to make it look like a banner. The leftovers from each end didn’t go to waste though, one (with it’s inside edge torn and it’s other edges distressed) is on the top right of the front cover and the other is on the top left of the back cover.
The additions to the front are a die cut, featuring a smaller version of the holly and baubles corner, from the Turtle Dove Collectables, a small musical square from Maids and a Scrapware ”Merry Christmas” embossed with gold. I popped the larger corner up onto some Mini Magic Mount and added a few Champagne coloured rhinestones to the larger baubles.
Mini_Backcover The back cover is still rather plain as you can see. Idon’t want to finish it off using something gorgeous and then find in the end that I wanted to use that something on the inside so it will have to wait for a while.

I will also be dressing the binding up with a variety of ribbons, fibres and lace and adding some metal embellishments hanging from chains, but that will also have to wait until all the other pages are finished too.

Next up will be a double page devoted to the first Day of Christmas – December 25th

