Carta Bella’s”Beautiful Moments” Collection certainly lives up to its name.  These papers and stickers are not only beautiful to look at, but they are also fantastic to use. The weight of the papers is almost as heavy as cardstock, making them perfect for holding mixed media and heavier embellishments, and they also warp less if you are spraying with mists or using paint. The texture is also lovely – reminiscent of old fashioned, heavy writing paper. The colours are a mix of rich cream, dusky pink, maroon and brown with a little bit of olive green. All in all a joy to use 🙂

My first layout, ”Forever”, uses one of the less decorated papers in the range for the background, “Chickadee”. I love the tiny pink dots and the banner and bird in the top corner are cute. The banner’s sentiment, ”A Time to Remember”, was perfect for my subject.This is a photo of DH’s parents at their wedding. Young and happy and beautiful. They recently celebrated their 60th Wedding Anniversary with a High Tea at the nursing home and this photo came to light. Right then I decided that I had to scrap it, and that ”Beautiful Moments” would be perfect for it.

Not being one to leave a background alone, I have used a Prima Brick Wall template, a credit card and Gesso to create a slightly raised pattern on both the bottom and the top of the page. Then I inked lightly using Spun Sugar, Victorian Velvet and Walnut Stain Distress Inks. A quick swipe with a damp paper towel removed the ink from the gessoed areas.

My circle, distressed with my Tim Holtz Paper Distresser and inked with Walnut Stain, is cut from the reverse of ”Stripes” and I have tucked some gathered lace from my stash around its outer rim. There is a piece of the same lace around the edge of the doily on the bottom right. I think it gives the whole page a soft, romantic feel…just what I was looking for. Adding to that feeling are two pearl flourishes filling a bit of the  space on the bottom of the layout.

The photo is mounted on a piece of the 6 x 6 equivalent of the reverse of ”Remember”, and I have softened the hard edge with a strip of white/cream paper, also from the Beautiful Moments 6 x 6 Paper Pad, punched with Martha Stewart’s Doily Lace punch. I tucked the bottom edge underneath the pink circle but left the top out.

There is already a banner at the top of the page, but I like the look of multiple banners right now, so I added another one of my own. I drew myself a template and cut five flags from a piece of chipboard using Tim Holtz Tonic Scissors (how fabulous are these? They cut through everything!). I covered each of them with papers from the Beautiful Moments 6 x 6 Paper Pad and inked the edges with Walnut Stain. I cut five scalloped circles using a Cuttlebug die and some A4 copy paper and, after inking with Walnut Stain, stuck one onto each flag. The next layer was either a tiny piece of flourish (cut from the inside pieces of Dusty Attic’s Baroque Frame Set), a chipboard heart (or the little circle that the heart came out of,  backed with contrasting pp’s), inked with Aged Mahogony or Spun Sugar Distress Inks. These were then decorated with tiny white roses, a rose bud or little birds which I cut from the”Borders” paper and mounted on Mini Magic Mount squares. Joining the five flags together is a strip of Kaisercraft Pink Champagne Pearls.

The cluster of embellishments filling top corner and spilling down the empty side of the circle started with a piece of metal filigree which is embossed using Stampendous Shabby Pink Embossing Enamel. In its centre is a bird cabochon from my stash. There is also a slightly larger piece of the Dusty Attic Baroque Frame Set, also embossed. The cluster of roses is made up of Prima roses and Kaisercraft Mini Blooms in Dusty Pink and Coconut. There is also a small rosebud and a couple of pale green leaves.

The larger cluster at the bottom of the page started with an embossed chipboard Vintage Arch window – it reminded me of a stained glass window which I thought went well with this layout. Over that I added more of the Prima and Kaisercraft Roses and leaves (this time some white ones as well), and another cabochon – this time a church.

The title, ”for ever”, is made from the small brown letter stickers on the 12 x 12 ”Alpha Stickers” sheet. A small glass cabochon fits perfectly over each one, stuck down with some Glossy Accents (oos). A little piece cut from a Kaisercraft Pearl Flourish (oos) sits on top of ”ever” and a small white owl from my stash completes the layout.